List of officials who sought to ‘unmask’ Michael Flynn

National Security Agency
Contact Your Elected Officials

GOP Senator Ron Johnson of Wisconsin and Senator Chuck Grassley of Iowa released documents on Wednesday listing the declassified names of Obama-era officials who sought to “unmask” former national security adviser Michael Flynn.

SUBJECT: (S//NF) Follow-up Unmasking Requests re Former National Security Advisor

(S//NF) Per your email request of 3 May 2020, I am providing a revised list of identities of any officials who submitted requests to the National Security Agency at any point between 8 November 2016 and 31 January 2017, to unmask the identity of former National Security Advisor, Lieutenant General Michael T. Flynn (USA-Ret). ‘Ibe original list was in alphabetical order; the revised list is in chronological order, including the date the request was received.

(U//FOUO) Consistent with the original response, dated 1 May 2020, this information is provided pursuant to the oversight authorities vested with the Director of National Intelligence, and a copy of this correspondence will be provided to the Secretary of Defense.

(S//HN) Below is a list of recipients who may have received Lt. Gen Flynn’s identity in response to a request processed between 8 November 2016 and 31 January 2017 to unmask an identity that had been generically referred to in an NSA foreign intelligence report. Each individual was an authorized recipient of the original report and the unmasking was approved through NSA’s standard process, which includes a review of the justification for the request. Only certain personnel are authorized to submit unmasking requests into the NSA system. In this case, 16 authorized individuals requested unmaskings for ■ different NSA intelligence reports for select identified principals. While the principals are identified below, we cannot confirm they saw the unmasked information. This response does not include any requests outside of the specified time-frame.

General, U.S. Army Director

Read the original document below


Names on this list include:

Samantha Powers, U.S. Ambassador to the United States

James Clapper, Director for National Intelligence

Kelly Degnan, Deputy Chief of Mission

John R. Phillips, U.S. Ambassador to Italy and the Republic of San Marino

John O. Brennan, Director of the CIA

Patrick Conton, OIA Director

Jacob Lew, Secretary of the Treasury

Arthur “Danny” McGlynn

Mike Neufeld, Acting Deputy Assistance Secretary Treasury

Sarah Raskin, Deputy Assistance Secretary Treasury

Nathan Sheets, Under Secretary Treasury

Adam Szubin, Acting Undersecretary Treasury

Mr. Robert Bell, USNATO Defense Advisor (DEFAD)

VADM Christenson, U.S. Representative to the NATO Military Committee

James Comey, Director of the Federal Bureau of Investigation

(Redacted), Chief Syria Group

(Redacted), Deputy Assistant Director of NEMC

Lt. Col. Paul Geehreng, USNATO Office of the Defense Advisor (ODA) Policy Advisor for Russia

Douglas Lute, U.S. NATO Advisor

Mr. James Hursch, USNATO Deputy DEFAD

(Redacted), Chief Syria Group

Ambassador Douglas Lute, U.S. Deputy Chief of U. S. Mission to NATO

(Redacted), USA – DOE-IN Executive Briefer

Scott Parrish, USNATO Political Officer (Redacted)

Elizabeth Sherwood-Randall, USA – DOE – Deputy Secretary of Energy

(Redacted), USA – DOE-IN Executive Briefer

Mr. Tamir Waser, USNATO Political Advisor (POLAD)

(Redacted), COS

(Redacted), CMO

(Redacted), DCOS

John Tefft, U.S. Ambassador to Russia

(Redacted), CMO

Ambassador John R. Bass, U.S. Ambassador to Turkey

Denis McDonough, Chief of Staff to the President of the United States

Michael Dempsey, Deputy Director of National Intelligence for Intelligence

Stephanie L. O’Sullivan, Principle Deputy Director of National Intelligence

(Redacted), CIA/CTMC

Joseph R. Biden, Vice President of the Untied States

Biden Doesn't Have Americans Best Interest At Heart